Insurance Commissioner joins celebration of CARD MBA in its 20th Anniversary

CARD Mutual Benefit Association (CARD MBA) celebrated its 20th anniversary of empowering and giving hope to Filipino families through microinsurance on September 6, 2019 at Maharlika Square and Event’s Place, Brgy. San Roque, San Pablo City, Laguna.

The anniversary was graced by Insurance Commissioner Dennis B. Funa (7th from left) and RIMANSI Executive Director Junjay E. Perez (2nd from left).

During the celebration, Insurance Commissioner Funa congratulated the Association for being the first among other MBAs under microinsurance. He shared that CARD MBA yielded the highest amount of premium production with over 983 million pesos in the 1st quarter of 2019, accounting to a whopping 81.73% of the total contribution of the entire MBA sector.

On the other hand, RIMANSI Executive Director Junjay E. Perez extended his appreciation to CARD MBA for being a good model in terms of good governance and being a big brother to other mutual benefit associations. “CARD has a very huge contribution in the microinsurance industry as one of the leading mutual benefit association with almost 50% outreach of microinsurance in the Philippines. Congratulations to CARD MBA in reaching two decades of insuring millions of lives,” said Perez.

“We are thankful and grateful that CARD MBA became the microinsurance MBA leader in the country,” said Dr. Jaime Aristotle B. Alip, the 2019 Ramon del Rosario Awardee for Nation Building and founder and chairman emeritus of CARD Mutually Reinforcing Institutions (CARD MRI).

“On this 20th anniversary, we will continue our commitment of reaching Filipino individuals and families, most especially in the marginalized sector of the society and hard to reach areas. We aim to provide microinsurance services to 40 million individuals by 2020,” Alip added.

The Awarding of Natatanging MBA Coordinator

During the event, five regional winners received recognitions and awards for the Natatanging MBA Coordinators: Joanna Eder from Luzon 1, Rebecca Albario from Luzon 2, Marianne Tagle from Luzon 3, Jovelyn Capuyan from Visayas, and Lilibeth Bacus from Mindanao region. Among them, Jovelyn Capuyan took the crown of this year Natatanging MBA Coordinators and received a cash prize worth Php20,000.00.

These MBA Coordinators were clients of CARD who help the Association to educate its millions of members all over the country about the importance of microinsurance. “They are essential instruments in providing a faster claims payment to our insured members and their families,” added Dawat.

The new set of Board of Trustees

Coinciding to the anniversary is the election of Board of Trustees. The six newly-elected who have two years term of service were Perla L. Munar, Teresita G. Villanueva, Remedios V. Gabriel, Cristita S. Salao, Nora T. Porley, and Elizabeth A. Francisco. They will be the new representatives of their regions to carry the message of their thousands of co-members from CARD MRI.

Moreover, Former Deputy Insurance Commissioner Vida T. Chiong was elected as CARD MBA’s new independent Board of Trustees.

“We are thankful for the fruitful 20 years of CARD MBA and we are looking forward for your continuous support. For the future of our fellow Filipinos and beloved ones, CARD MBA is Hope,” CARD MBA CEO May S. Dawat ended.